Why the name?

For my first blog entry, I felt I should explain the name of my blog.  Most of my younger life, I was the girl who held up the walls while I watched my friends dance.  Always on the fringe of the crowd, I was your classic nerd: quiet, painfully shy, the one who always had her nose buried in a book.  I had thick, unruly, chestnut-colored hair, glasses and freckles.  We didn’t have much money and I often wore my older sisters’ hand-me-downs (though I think my mother would rain down hailstones on me from heaven if I didn’t acknowledge that I had some new clothes as well.)  I was the ultimate wallflower.

Fortunately, with each passing year, I began to discover small slivers of confidence.  The first petals of the flower began to unfold.  First it was my intelligence, then my style, and finally, I began to embrace my beauty….both the inner and the outer.

Now, finally, in my 41st year, I am celebrating the life of a courageous woman.  Though I have much life yet to learn and to live, I am finally at peace with who I am and who I still have yet to become.  There are trials still yet to be conquered, old negative fears that must still be hushed, and challenges that have yet to be faced.  But with each step, the petals continue to unfold and the wallflower is blossoming.

10 thoughts on “Why the name?

  1. Hi there,

    I just stumbled upon this blog through the recommendation of a ‘friend’. I must say I love your writing style! I encourage you to continue on this path to personal salvation, and you shall behold that with each published essay you will have stepped closer to the divine we are all part of. As my Nigerian friend would say: “I believe the Almighty on High has entwined our fates, and if it is to be, we must proceed upon the pre-ordained lines, or else suffer the indignity of mutual rejection.”. So true…

  2. every word you write is like healing balm to the soul. Im so glad you started this blog, I love you,so glad to call you my friend 🙂

  3. My new treasured friend– My mother always told me to always start at the beginning and although I must admit that – as I so often did in my youth with a new book, I began reading your blog in sections…and so, I skipped to and fro until finally starting from the back and reading to the front. (that word be from your last entry and finding myself here at the beginning) Shhh dont whisper that into the cosmos of heaven or my mom will have my head on a platter lol
    In reading your blog, I have smiled, I have wept, I have laughed literally out-loud. I have remembered Christmas and thanksgiving and I have stood tall and proud 😉 and there have been an abundance of other emotions in-between. I am a believer that there is a reason for everything that happens in our life, even if we don’t see it at the time. Rewind to just a short time back and it was my first attempt at blogging and you, yes YOU were my very first friend here. The Divine had a hand in that and I am overwhelmed by such a gift. You will forever hold a special place in my heart and the kindness you have shown me has not and shall never go un noticed. I’m still learning the art of blogging but I want you to know that there has not been one entry you have made that I didn’t like, and if it weren’t for fear of coming across as obsessed, I would have clicked on that “like” button. 🙂 Bless you Melissa and please know I am blessed to call you my friend. Huge hugs! Phoenix

    1. Dearest Phoenix, what an amazing and wonderful comment! I don’t think anyone (other than my sister and father) have read all my blog posts! I’m so glad that you liked them and they touched you. And by the way, you can click “like” on every single post if you want! LOL!
      Seriously though, it is interesting how life works. I’m sure I was brought to your blog for a reason and I’m so very glad I did! I truly feel blessed in my life for coming to know so many complete strangers around the world and now calling them my friends. This life can be so hard sometimes, but it’s meeting people like you and so many others that I count as some of my very best moments. It really makes life worth it. Biggest of hugs my wonderful friend! ❤

    1. Thank you for stopping by! I hope you like it. So glad Timere has made good friends like you and that there are so many good hearted souls out there! Hug!

      1. My pleasure!
        And thank you, likewise.
        Yes, there are beautiful people about and I am so happy Timere is getting to understand that now.
        Hug right back 🙂

Leave a Reply

