My Soul Dances…

 

girl in the moonlight“A waltz when she walks in the room
She pulls back the hair from her face
She turns to the window to sway in the moonlight
Even her shadow has grace
A waltz for the girl out of reach
She lifts her hands up to the sky
She moves with the music
The song is her lover
The melody’s making her cry
So she dances
In and out of the crowd
Like a glance
This romance is from afar
Calling me silently…”

I love the lyrics to the above song (And So She Dances) as it expresses so well the quiet moments when my spirit dances and my body yearns to follow.  At times, I will stand at my window and look out at the moonlight and I will feel my soul begin to sway to music that my ears cannot hear.

I dance for the “girl out of reach.” I dance for the dreamer who has not yet fulfilled her dreams…but will.  I dance simply to revel in the beauty of the dark night.  I dance to the harmony of the stars and the melody of the rain, to the music that can only be heard when the physical world is silent.  I dance for the woman who wishes to share her innermost desires, but fears that the cruelties of the world will crush it out of her.

In these moments, my soul dances for passion, pain, joy, and the wisdom gained from life’s deepest felt experiences. My soul dances for past loves and for love yet to be found.  And last of all, my soul dances in hope that one day the dawn will bring the fulfillment of my unspoken dreams and wishes.  And so it continues…and my soul dances.

2 thoughts on “My Soul Dances…

  1. Hi,

    What resonated with me are these lines.

    “A waltz for the girl out of reach
    She lifts her hands up to the sky.”

    Is the aspect of “out of reach” a perception or reality? If it be a reality, what brings up the yearning and the “lifting of hands”?

    Great post.

    Shakti

  2. Hi Shakti,
    Thank you so much for commenting! I think, for me, those lines are referring to the time when the woman was a young girl…the young girl is “out of reach.” But because we still, as adults, often crave the innocence, the laughter, the joy we had as children…I think that is what the woman is yearning for. That’s what it means to me…because it is personal and what I yearn for. Sometimes the pressures and stress of being an adult is more that what we bargained for as children and I know in my own life, I seek to remember the joy, the laughter, and the hope I had as a child. It comes and goes, but I know I feel it much less now than I did then. So what does “she” think as she lifts her hands to the sky…maybe an unspoken prayer that her life will get better?
    Thank you again for the comment. Peace to you my friend. 🙂
    Melissa

Leave a Reply

