Out of the Ashes…

Everyone has been through their fair share of disappointments in life.  I have yet to talk to a single person who has said that their lives turned out exactly like they thought it would.  Even talking with people in their early to mid-twenties, I have found that they say the same thing.  They thought life would be…different.  No matter your age or place in life, you will experience disappointments.  It’s just a part of life.  How we handle these disappointments, though, is what develops our character.  Coming through the disappointments and learning how to handle them can be what makes or breaks us.

Recently, I was reading an article about a local landmark that had burned down a couple of years ago.  It had been used as a church and a meetinghouse for various activities for the LDS religion.  Through an accident, the place was practically burnt to the ground with nothing but a few blackened walls and stained glass windows remaining.  It was heartbreaking for all of those who had loved the old building and had many memories of it.  The frame stood empty for a while until those who owned the building could figure out what best to do with the land.  It was announced later that the old landmark was going to be rebuilt into a temple to be used by worthy members of the LDS church.  The building that had been used for Sunday meetings and various other events was now going to be used for a higher purpose.

As I read that article, I thought about my own life.  I thought of the number of disappointments that I have been through in my life and especially in the last two years.  I began to wonder if I was like that burnt-out frame.  After a very recent devastating disappointment, I had decided to just stop dreaming for a while.  I was tired of getting my hopes up to have them crushed again.  But while reading through that article, I began to realize that maybe, just maybe, God had a different plan for me.  Here I am trying to build a nice, comfortable life, but maybe He’s trying to build something grander.  I don’t know what He has in mind, but it’s a beautiful thought: to think that, with His help, that my life might mean something greater than it does at the moment.  He knows so much better than I.

So out of the ashes, I begin to dream once again…

 

8 thoughts on “Out of the Ashes…

  1. Mellisa, You always have the knack to make me want to cry….Every word you say is very true…You ave to make mistakes or you would never learn anything…And dreams are god’s way of making you strive to achieve them, If we didn’t have dreams what would be the sense in living? You are so astute as to what people feel. Not everyone has the talent to make the tears appear. If we were ..by some fluke of nature ever got together I’d be crying buckets everyday!! Dehydration wouldn’t even come near to it.
    🙂 Some people strive all their lives trying to write something that will pull the heart strings, all you have to do is put pen to paper and Bingo It’s like the movie “Love Story” I have to admit I cried, but for goodnes sake I’m a man and men don’t cry……..Do they? 😦

  2. When I read the part of your post about the way a person handles disappointment will build their character, I immediately thought of the way you have handled things in your life. I know you’ve been through many many things, and I’ve only seen you handle these things with strength and grace. You are truly an example of coming out of the ashes and being made into something so beautiful both inside and out. And a faithful example to all. Love you my dear friend. I think of you often and would like for us to get together!

  3. Great post. Beautifully written. We all have our share of failures & disappointments in life; but battle it out is what we call life. Thank you for this post. It was inspiring.

Leave a Reply

