Reflection

 

Is there a moment in your past that you wish you could go back and change?  Did you ever have a pivotal moment when you felt destiny hang in the balance and wish you could go back and do or say the right thing that would have made the difference?

I have one of those moments.  I will not go into detail, but it was as I sat on a bench listening to someone tell me something that took my breath away.  I did not know how to respond and I felt what I said was not what I should have said.  I have thought of that moment hundreds of times, wishing somehow I could have said something differently or acted differently to elicit the response I had hoped for.

As I stand now on the precipice of yet another change in my life, I think about that moment and wonder yet again…what if?

sad21kx

But in all honesty, I don’t think anything I could have said or done would have made a difference and this is why:  I don’t believe that our lives are predetermined (meaning we have no choice in the matter), but I do believe that our lives are guided into taking a certain path.  You can call it God, the Universe, or whatever you like, but I sincerely believe that we are meant to go a definite direction.  You can feel it.  When you are on the right path, there will be opportunities that will open up to you that you never thought possible.  Your life will just sort of flow, like water in a stream cascading down a hill.  If you are headed the wrong direction, the universe will let you know.  Your life will be filled with impossible obstacles and walls and heavy burdens.

I’m not saying that being on the right path is always easy, because it’s not.  Even when you are headed the direction you are meant to, there will still be hard experiences.  It is a part of life.  Those trials and challenges are what help us to grow the most…if we let them.  The journey is meant to be both joyful and painful, exciting and boring, full of love and at times, full of loneliness.

But the one thing you can take comfort in is this: it is MY journey…the one I was meant to travel.  Which means that God or the Universe is aware of me and that I have a purpose and a destiny that only I can fulfill.  What an empowering thought!

And so though I wish, at times, that I had said something different in that pivotal moment on that bench, maybe I said exactly what I was meant to say and maybe I am now exactly where I was meant to be.  And with that comforting thought, I take another step on my journey…

usca51301-bw

Leave a Reply

