Counting My Blessings

(Dedicated to my mother who taught me how to find adventure and beauty around every corner.  I love and miss you every day Mom!)

“When you are worried,

and you can’t sleep,

just count your blessings

instead of sheep

and you’ll fall asleep

counting your blessings.”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DXKxazgio2s

It seems appropriate to be discussing blessings during Thanksgiving.  The above song is from the movie “White Christmas”, but the words are timeless.  It was during an especially difficult day that I remembered this song.  As I listened to it, the words were like a lullaby soothing my soul.  I used to watch this movie with my mom and it has grown more dear with each passing year.

As I have struggled with the daily challenges of life, I have tried to remember to “count my blessings” or look for the positive in my own life.  Even on my worst days, I will look up at the stars,  and be thankful that I can see them.  When “my bankroll is getting small” and other events are worrying me, I take this day to simply remember all the positive that I have in my life: joyous memories, the ability to see a sunset, to hear beautiful music, to taste delicious food, to share in the warmth of  family, friends, and to enjoy generally good health.

Dear friends, I hope you will do the same. On this day, let us be thankful for the good in our lives.  It takes only a few moments, but it will bring a smile to your face and a lift to your soul.  Even when your cares press in upon you so much that you feel like you can barely breathe, if you stop and think about it for a while, you will begin to find the blessings.  They are there, like small gems waiting to be discovered.

So tonight, as I lay there falling asleep, I will be counting my blessings instead of sheep…and I’ll fall asleep counting my blessings.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

autumn_barn 

One thought on “Counting My Blessings

Leave a Reply

