Wading Through the Mud

Wallflower Blossoming

While living in Cartagena, Colombia, I taught English at a bilingual school.  This school was located about 10 miles away from the city which was done on purpose as a protection to the students who often came from wealthier parents.  And it was actually very pleasant to get away from the noise of the city and enjoy the farmlands and countryside.

One day, towards the end of the school year, the teachers were finishing grades and correcting tests.  The students were officially off for the year, so some of the workers were not there.  Unfortunately, I (and a few other teachers) had missed the announcement that both the cafeteria and school store would be closed.  Essentially, this meant no lunch. I suppose I could have waited until I arrived home around 4:00 pm to eat, but I was hungry as I’d had very little for breakfast.

So proceeded the adventure…

View original post 463 more words

Leave a Reply

