Gratitude for the Little Things

The other day someone asked me “When was the last time you were really happy for a long period of time?”  I paused for a moment and said “I’m happy now!”  He seemed stunned and almost didn’t know how to respond.

life_is_beautiful_3

I suppose that’s not an answer we hear very often these days.  For many people, the idea of happiness seems almost out of reach.  I used to think that.  There were many times I just felt as if I was existing and the idea of long-term contentment and happiness just felt almost impossible.

As adults, we are taught to be polite, answer “fine” to everything and when we aren’t feeling “fine”, we hide it and tell people we are “fine” anyway.  I have a dear friend who described F.I.N.E. as Fed-up, Insecure, Neurotic, and Emotional.  I always chuckled when I responded “fine” and she responded back with that.  It’s often true that when someone answers in that manner, they are most definitely NOT fine. When one has more disappointments and rejections than one can count, it is often difficult to pick yourself up and keep going.

But something has changed for me.  Instead of relying on those “possibilities” and “potentials” to bring me happiness, I’ve begun to look at everything I already have and feel immensely grateful. I am not rich in the financial sense, I don’t have a significant other, nor was I ever able to have children, but oh my goodness…I have more friends than I can count! I have loving, supportive family members who remind me on a daily basis how truly lucky and blessed I am.

I have a little place I can call my own and I smile every day as I wander pass the flowers I planted or look at the pictures I’ve hung.  The other day I stood there and just gazed at my bookshelf.  I finally had unpacked books and mementos that have been in boxes for years and just seeing them brought back beautiful memories.

I really am grateful…grateful for life with all of its laughter, peaceful moments, brilliant storms, trials that strengthen me, magnificent scenery,  and most of all, for all the shared love.

As I think about the amazing experiences I’ve had, the wonderful people I know, and all the “best days so far” to come, who am I not to be happy?!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!

beautiful_beach_sunsets_wallpaper_hd_free

 

6 thoughts on “Gratitude for the Little Things

  1. I love this Melissa! I truly believe that focusing on what we have to be thankful for really helps us not focus so much on what we wish for. Well at least most of the time… 😉 There are still days I wallow in my unhappiness but I know God is in control, and He really does hold us in the palm of His hand. Happy Thanksgiving my dearest! ♡

    1. I’m so glad you liked it Valerie! Thank you! And yes, I totally agree. I have done my best to be grateful for the little things, but I have my up and down days, too. I think I also wrote this to remind myself. 🙂
      Happy Thanksgiving beautiful lady!

  2. The way I understand, you need not be ‘fine’ or ‘happy’ all the time. It is logical that for every action, there is an equal and opposite side. Let’s be happy with existence just the way it is. Keep smiling, and write more! 🙂

    1. Thank you for your insight. Yes, for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction (according to science). Yes, there will always be good and bad days, but in my religion and my personal beliefs, we are taught to become the best we can be and that includes looking at things in a more positive light and being grateful for that which we have. More positivism in this world can only help, not hurt. That’s my outlook. Thank you Manu and hope you are well!

  3. I am so enjoying the time I spend here in your little place of words. Such beautiful and gifted words too. I understand that this post of yours was written a while back but blessings and thanksgiving comes to us every single day as long as we allow ourselves to give and receive humbly. As for me, I am very blessed to have found my way here and now, I am equally thankful to have found a new friend. Peace and love be yours! 🙂

Leave a Reply

