Elusive

 

kiss

Like the emerald green flash

That appears for but a sweet moment

Across a jaded ocean…

As taunting and fragile

As a snowflake in spring

Disappearing in the air…

Like the fading memory

Of a perfect dream

Waking to a gray morning…

As brief as the heated glance

Of desire when your fingers

Callously brushed mine…

As fleeting as your last phantom kiss

On my lips

Wet with salty tears…

And as transitory as the shifting ground

Upon which your vows

Were declared…

So was the immortal love

You falsely swore would be mine…

Forever.

11 thoughts on “Elusive

  1. Oh wow Melissa! The words in this beautiful poem touched me in ways that brought tears to my eyes. A bitter-sweet verse that spoke of love-love lost. So much I could say and yet, words that should come to me elude me. All the same, hauntingly beautiful and familiar. Well done sweet friend. Well done indeed.

    1. Thank you so much Phoenix! I really do love your comments. It’s kind of been writhing around inside of me today just trying to get out, so I had to give it a voice. 🙂

      1. I totally understand and have had those moments myself. Sometimes it all we can do. Give voice, allow ourselves to mourn, embrace what was and then, release what no longer serves us. I’m giving you a big ol’ bear hug right now! 😉

  2. I really like the way you write and so I know I shall read some more. Beautifully penned, Melissa. I’m really glad you found your way to Petals, and there may you find the Inner Peace and Hope my work give to many. I look forward in getting to know you better as well. Love is a slippery fellow. It is also a lot of hard work, commitment, and many dips where our darkness is seen which either makes or breaks the relationship. Thank you for the follow on Petals. I am honored. ❤

Leave a Reply

