His Song

This was written long ago and originally meant to be a song, but it turned out to be more of a poem. I might turn it into lyrics someday, but for now, I felt it should be appreciated for just being what it is.  I think there’s a metaphor in that somewhere…we should all be appreciated just for what we are.  🙂  Love to you all…

London couple in the snow

His Song

Turning, whirling, around and around
Painted masks dancing
To a chaos of sound
Dawn comes, your face fades away
The fantasy ends
In the cold light of day.

How is it possible
That you still invade my dreams?
You flash upon my life
Like an unwanted memory
An unfinished painting gathering dust
Still waiting on the edge of my reality…

Please let me go
Please let me mend
Tear your soul from mine
Please let this agony end

With you I first tasted passion
Embracing on the callous streets
Soulmates at our first caress
Strangers after lies confessed

But if I let go of my tight control
I will lose this mask of sanity
I have tried so hard to hold.
Even with the passing years,
You are still the
Broken part of my soul.

Please let me go
Please let me mend
Tear your soul from mine
Please let this torment end

When will your tender touch
No longer caress my skin?
When will your soft voice
No longer echo within?
When will your words fade from my mind?
When will I put your love behind?

Please let me go
Please let me mend
Take your bittersweet memories
And please, dear God, just let this love end…

6 thoughts on “His Song

  1. I love what you said, Melissa. I just want to be appreciated for who I am. Even as I am still like an archeologist, excavating my after so so long long lost self and not altogether sure who I will find when the dust settles, but very much excited about the discovery. And your writing is, as always, touching and stunning and just so much talent. ❤

    1. Thank you so much Valerie! I debated about posting this poem as it was very personal, even if it was written long ago, but I thought “What the heck, why not?” 😀 And I, for one, appreciate you just the way you are! Many hugs! ❤

    1. Thank you! It was wrung from the depths of my soul, so your comment is right on! Thank you for taking the time to stop by and visit and leave a comment. I so appreciate it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

