A Nation Torn…

I wrote this post 4 years ago, but it seems more relevant now in the face of all the fear and negativity after the election. Sigh…please people, stop and think for a moment before you let your passions lead you to fighting with people you once loved.

Wallflower Blossoming

(I will now get on my little soapbox and rant.)  As the recent election draws near, I watch the political ads of the candidates running for president, read articles and listen to debates between acquaintances.  I listen to both sides and watch friends, acquaintances and family members tear each other apart as they argue about which side is better and why.  I read articles demeaning the beliefs and even the character of the people running for their parties.  I see various ads on television doing the same thing and frankly, it makes me sick!  I get so tired of seeing people tear each other down for their beliefs whether they be religious, political or otherwise.

How is it possible that sane, ordinary people who live and work side-by-side can suddenly began to see their neighbors, co-workers, and friends as their sworn enemy if they oppose their views?   Whatever happened to…

View original post 530 more words

6 thoughts on “A Nation Torn…

  1. I see the news clips of the rioting and protesting saying Trump is not MY President. I hear and read quotes from “celebrities” who call anyone who did not vote for Hillary “uneducated” “anti-everything” and worse. And I am still waiting to see if the celebrities who boldly claimed they would leave the U.S. if Trump was elected are really just liars.

    What happened to respect? What happened to working together to make America better? I don’t understand all the anger and lashing out!

    1. I agree. Respect, kindness, compassion and understanding should be the order of the day. Not hatred and fear-spreading. Sigh. But I am grateful for those on both sides who are willing to reach across the table and say “Hey, I hear you, let’s work together!” Hugs to you Timere and I hope things are getting better for you. ❤

      1. “A House Divided Against Itself Can NOT Stand.” So many are so determined to be divided instead of United that the country seems to just keep spiraling and splitting into splinters.

  2. Unfortunately fear is an incredible motivator. Fear sells, fear makes us controllable. And when we are well and truly terrified we will attack anyone and everyone. Politicians, the media and anyone else who has something unsellable to sell to us use fear as the quickest, surest way to take control.

    1. Yes, I agree. I think of a line from one of my favorite books “The Blue Castle” by L.M. Montgomery. “Fear is the original sin. Almost all of the evil in the world has its origin in the fact that some one is afraid of something.” I often think of that when I start to let fear control me. I also believe if people were able to have all the facts, fear wouldn’t be such a factor. Oh well, I can only do what I can do. Reach out with love and let the rest of it go. 🙂 Thank you for reading and a cheerful “Good morning!” to you down under! 🙂

Leave a Reply

