Darkness and Light

For about a year now, I have been wading through some very prolonged trials. From health problems to a very difficult job to relationship struggles to car accidents and more. There were many days where even leaving the house to go to the grocery store took almost more effort that I had in me. I would just barely began to get over one problem or event when the next one hit. It was like a battering ram at times or like I was drowning.

But as I’ve stated many times, the one thing that has kept me going is hope that things will turn around. I can now see a ray of light in the darkness…a potential answer that could bring great joy to me. It’s not secure yet, but it is real. And it will come. The other parts of my life are starting to slowly turn around and I feel for the first time in a long time like I can finally breathe a little freer.

I’m not out of the woods yet, but today I can rejoice in the warmth of a sunny spring day. I hear the chirpings of baby birds in a nearby tree, I see my cats warming themselves on the grass and chasing each other about and my soul looks up and smiles at the clear, baby blue sky. The air is sweet and I take a deep breath letting it cleanse the ugliness away. Does it mean everything will be perfect? Of course not. But it’s getting better.

I can dream again…and that itself is worth the pain and suffering of long dark periods. There must needs be opposition in all things so that we might appreciate the sweet release of pain when it comes. For it DOES come. I know there are those who see nothing but darkness with no hope of ever seeing the light, but let me reiterate again…THE LIGHT WILL ALWAYS COME. Don’t give up hope my friends, the light is coming.

2 thoughts on “Darkness and Light

    1. It also takes faith. Hope and faith go hand in hand. Have faith. Each of our journeys are different, but the One who knows all from beginning to end also knows what is best for us. Trust that. I’m still learning to trust, but I’m learning He knows better than I.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.