The Star Wanderer

She clad herself in a gossamer dress 
of iridescent clouds
And donned a pair 
of starshine slippers
She wrapped herself in the shawl 
of an amethyst sunset
And adorned her head with a crown 
of fairy lights

The Star Wanderer was off
to a new adventure
New fantasies called
And with a periwinkle twinkle
In her endless eyes
She called to me in my dreams

We flew away on ballet wings
through the Milky Way
dancing around the Andromeda galaxy
whirling through Cassiopeia's stars
waving gaily at Pegasus

We sipped golden cups 
of dew with sleepy morning glories
Laughed with the 
Effervescent man in the moon
And swam with merry mermaids
in faraway indigo oceans

We crashed loud cymbals of thunder
And played chase with the lightning
Racing the laughing wind
Over summer fields 
Of green and gold and lavender

And as the rays of an early sun
Began to light the eastern sky
The Star Wanderer and I 
Made our way back to my dreams
Where I blinked my sleepy eyes
And smiled...
At the starshine slippers on my pillow. 



2 thoughts on “The Star Wanderer

  1. So lovely! Thank you, Melissa. You and your beautiful writing have been missed. Grateful you’re back.💜

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.